OIT Awards for Excellence winners announced

The Office of Information Technology (OIT) announced its 2021 Awards for Excellence winners on April 27 in a virtual ceremony. Established in 1996, the University Awards for Excellence is the most prestigious honor bestowed upon non-faculty employees and recognizes their outstanding accomplishments and contributions in seven categories.

OIT  presented awards to two SHRA employees and one OIT non-faculty EHRA employee: 

SHRA Awards

Taylor Lundy of Business Services and Kevin Ficker of ClassTech received the award for SHRA employees.

  • Nominated in the category of customer service, Lundy went beyond his normal job functions to help OIT solve major challenges presented by the COVID-19 pandemic. He acquired sanitation materials for employees, kept the ComTech warehouse staffed and running smoothly, and helped remote employees troubleshoot their connectivity issues, while keeping safety and health a top priority at all times.
  • Nominated in the category of efficiency and innovation, Ficker played a vital role in assisting OIT ClassTech and DELTA prepare classrooms and lecture spaces for the fall 2020 and spring 2021 semesters. His rigorous approach to testing and validating software and hardware ensured the Classroom Capture Initiative was successful.

EHRA Award 

Eric Poirier of Enterprise Application Services received the award for EHRA employees.

Nominated in the category of customer service, Poirier’s consistent dedication, positive demeanor and team-oriented approach are vital to the success of the document management services that he and his team provide to others. Poirier’s recent and notable efforts include implementation of a strategic secure document and file sharing service to protect NC State’s ultra-sensitive (purple) and HIPAA data; development of business process design and automation to support COVID-19 remote work activities; and the implementation of new document management services for the eRA project.

Each winner received a plaque, $250 and eight hours of paid time-off. They will also vie at the university level for an Award for Excellence. Nine OIT employees were nominated for this division award.