OIT reminds Google Workspace users that they might encounter a “view-only” message when accessing a shared Google Drive file that is owned by another user.
This message is related to storage changes for Google Drive where the file owner no longer has an active affiliation with the university (e.g., has left employment, graduated) and the file owner’s Google Workspace account has zero quota.
If this is the case, you will want to:
- Move the Google Drive file to an NC State Google Shared Drive.
- Make a copy and ensure the new copy is shared with the appropriate people.
If you have any questions, please reference the related Knowledge Base article in the NC State IT Service Portal or contact your local IT support staff.