History of NC State University Wiring Standards

Prior to 1993
  • In the late 1980’s NC State Computing Center and Telecommunications realized the need to have one common standard for the intrabuilding communications wiring infrastructure installed in university buildings. In 1990, they developed the NCSU Uniform Wiring Plan (1.1).
  • The standard consisted of the following basic components:
    1. One common outlet for every dorm room, classroom, lab, office, etc.
    2. A four cable bundle connecting each outlet to a telecom room. This bundle consisted of the following:
      • One Category 3 cable for voice.
      • One Category 4 cable for data.
      • One RG58 coax cable for data.
      • One RG6 coax cable for video.
    3. An enclosed raceway and conduit system to house the above horizontal cables.
    4. Telecom rooms located strategically throughout each building.
    5. A riser cabling system consisting of a variety of twisted pair and coax voice, data, and video cables to interconnect the telecom rooms.
  • Buildings wired prior to 1993 were wired to the 1990 standard.


  • The 1990 standard was revised in 1994 (version 1.2) to accommodate the development of Category 5 data cabling and devices. Buildings wired from 1993 to 1999 were wired in accordance with the 1994 revision.
  • Three additional outlet types were added later to accommodate specific applications that the original outlet cable bundle did not address:
    1. Dorm Outlet (one CAT 3, two CAT 5, and one RG6).
    2. Quad CAT 5 outlet. (Four CAT 5).
    3. Fiber outlet (one four-strand multimode fiber).


  • The 1994 standard was revised in early 1999 (version 1.3) to become in line with the new UNC system-wide baselines. This interim standard was used in 1999 until the Category 6 base standard was approved.
  • Only two types of outlets were defined by this standard:
    1. Interim University Wiring Standard outlet (three CAT 5 and one blank).
    2. Fiber outlet (one four-strand multimode fiber).


  • In 1999, a new wiring standard (version 2.0) was developed. It is based on Category 6 cabling.


  • In 2011, a new wiring standard (version 3.0) was developed. It is based on CAT6A cabling and is the current standard.